Reflections on my first year

Three hundred sixty-five days ago today was my first day on the job here at the Chamber.  Yesterday, I was all ready to blog about how the Chamber is advocating and promoting this already vibrant business community but the fire last night took the wind out of my sails.  For those who have lived here longer than I it probably felt even more like a punch in the gut.  The loss of something so iconic and dear to the community will be hard to overcome.

Still I know that, eventually, it will be ok.  Because after a year of getting to know more of the business owners, employees, and citizens of this community I am confident in that.  There is a lot of wonderful people living and working here who selflessly donate their time, talents, and treasures to those in need.  It is a great joy for me to be able to promote that – not only to our area, but to the entire state.

There are so many great things happening in the Williston Area.   Your membership in the Chamber helps us to support, promote, and grow this business community.  The Chamber exists to help connect you, advocate for you, provide education and business development options, and promote you.  There is strength in numbers.  The bigger we grow the stronger we become and that’s why we developed our Member Referral Program.  It’s important that we are all united and working toward the same end…a strong community.

Of course, there will always be struggles, challenges, and changes along the way.  But being a part of something as wonderful as this community makes it all worthwhile because you know your community will be behind you.

It has been a privilege to work for you, our members.  My goal when I first started last year was to get out and meet ALL the members.  One year into it, I haven’t reached my goal….YET.  It is still my goal.  I care about all of you and your businesses and I look forward to meeting those I haven’t yet.   The Chamber exists for you and I’m grateful to be working on your behalf!

-Janna

Leave a Reply

