#ShopWillistonWide

It’s a tagline that got stuck in my head when our retail committee started meeting last fall.  To me, it encompasses the Chamber’s mission of being the champion of our united business community and is inclusive to all businesses in the Williston Area.

Now, whether or not anyone uses the tagline except for me is another story.  But know that it is always in the back of my mind.  I hope it can be for you too.  Last fall I wrote a blog about shopping local.  I almost want to re-blog it because it is still true.  Supporting local businesses that employ your neighbor and give back to the community should be our focus.  By supporting local businesses, you create a stronger community.  You have the choice.  Just like Explosive Enterprises owners Adam Natwick and Simon Fisher who chose to donate fireworks so that the people living and working in Williston Area could celebrate our country’s Independence Day with the proper excitement.  It displays what I already know about the businesses in this community – they care.  Who wouldn’t want to support that?

This weekend is our big Rockin Ribfest event – I hope you come out to it.  We partnered this year with members Patriot Productions and Black Magic Harley Davidson along with countless sponsors to create an even bigger event for the community.  In conjunction, area retailers have collaborated to have a clearance event.  I hope you take advantage of the sales and support the local businesses.  I hope that you took my suggestion the other day and supported those businesses being affected by the US 2 road closure – particularly those on Reiger Dr. even if it is a little inconvenient.  And I hope that you think twice about what you purchase and decide to purchase it here.

This community has grown so much over the recent past years.  I’d venture to say that there are many new shops and businesses out there that you aren’t even aware of – or ones that have expanded to offer you more.  You can always check out our member directory online or refer to the retail map that went out in the Herald.  It’s important to patronize our local businesses.  The more you do, the more you’ll see your community flourish.

-Janna

Leave a Reply

